Author Topic: Differences between a Long Lang and a TBH?  (Read 13917 times)

Offline ShannaRose

Differences between a Long Lang and a TBH?
« on: July 05, 2015, 02:33:19 pm »
So can anyone explain to me why I might want to try a Long Lang, besides the point of being able to get frames from neighbors' Lang hives if needed?  I have 3 TBH's and growing, my neighbors mostly do TBH, but there is so much talk about the Long Lang I am wondering what I am missing??! Since I learned beekeeping with TBH's I'm comfortable manipulating them and building them. I understand why when using wax foundation you get more honey, but when going foundationless I'm guessing honey volumes must be similar.

Perhaps the difference has more to do with the comfort of the beekeeper rather than the bees?

Offline efmesch

• Gold Member
Re: Differences between a Long Lang and a TBH?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2015, 05:00:17 pm »
I have no experience with TBH's so I can't say anything regarding advantages or disadvantages in comparing the general management of either.  However, from the efficiency standpoint, it seems to me that Langstroths have the upper hand. 

First of all, manipulating a comb that is strongly attached to a frame on several edges and usually strengthened by wires or plastic sheets between the wax foundation is a lot less likely to get broken upon examination.  Whereas the TBH combs must be held only vertically, langstroth frames can be held horizontally too, making examination of both sides easier and less likely to result in broken combs.
Secondly, Langstroth frames are made to fit into extractors (or more correctly, extractors' dimensions are made to accommodate langstroth frames) and enable the extraction of honey without damaging the combs, allowing their re-use.  Said differently, Langstroth frames are made with honey production  and comb preservation in mind, TBH's can't compete on those scores.