Author Topic: Long langstroth?  (Read 2211 times)

Offline Wandering Man

• Gold Member
    • Life Lessons from dogs, bees and others
Long langstroth?
« on: August 16, 2018, 06:24:47 pm »
I’m laid up for a few weeks thanks to foot surgery.

3Reds has read some information on how great long Langstroth hives are, specifically 4’ long hives. She thinks she would be able to check on the hives without me, if we had our bees in them.

I’m willing to move one of our 3 colonies into one just to see if we like it. I’m wondering what experience others hear may have had with this type of hive?
Never argue with drunks or crazy people

Offline riverbee

• Gold Member
  • ***Forum Sponsor***
Re: Long langstroth?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2018, 10:51:16 pm »
i think you should enjoy your recovery and drink a lot of local beer.............. :D :D :laugh:

wm, just kidding!.....just had to wish you well in recovery from the foot surgery.  i have no experience with 4 foot long langstroth hives.  best wishes to you and 3 reds if you decide to try it, and if you do, i look forward to reading about your experience with it!

i can be sort of traditional, but my veil is off to anyone trying something different.  it's how we learn, and what works and what doesn't.  it just adds to our knowledge, and gaining knowledge from others.
i keep wild things in a box..........™
if you obey the rules, you miss all the fun.....katherine hepburn
Forum Sponsor

Offline Wandering Man

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2018, 12:14:34 am »
i think you should enjoy your recovery and drink a lot of local beer.............. :D :D :laugh:

wm, just kidding!.....just had to wish you well in recovery from the foot surgery.  i have no experience with 4 foot long langstroth hives.  best wishes to you and 3 reds if you decide to try it, and if you do, i look forward to reading about your experience with it!