Author Topic: Parent Hive management after Swarms  (Read 2381 times)

Offline Kathi

Parent Hive management after Swarms
« on: June 18, 2018, 10:16:02 am »
I'm in my second year with my first hive.  This Spring it swarmed the end of May, and 16 days later a secondary swarm.  We caught both swarms.  On inspection of the parent hive there are still lots of bees and sealed queen cells.  What do I do with the parent hive?  Do I let it requeen itself, or buy a queen asap?  I'm getting conflicting advice on the need to get this hive back on track for winter in Nova Scotia.

Any advice much appreciated  :)

Kathi

Offline apisbees

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
Re: Parent Hive management after Swarms
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2018, 08:05:55 pm »
It is still early and lots of time for a queen to mate and get laying again.
Honey Judge, Beekeeping Display Coordinator, Armstrong Fair and Rodeo.
The following users thanked this post: Kathi

Offline riverbee

• Gold Member
  • ***Forum Sponsor***
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2018, 08:59:06 pm »
kathi,

please describe your parent hive for us, for example how many frames of bees, how many sealed queen cells, where are the cells located?

are you using langstroth equipment? 10 frame deeps? do you have one deep on or two deeps on? describe your set up.

are your frames all drawn?
i keep wild things in a box..........™
if you obey the rules, you miss all the fun.....katherine hepburn
Forum Sponsor

Offline Bakersdozen

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2018, 06:26:23 am »