Author Topic: Smoker safety  (Read 1926 times)

Offline Lburou

• Gold Member
Smoker safety
« on: July 09, 2018, 05:52:51 pm »
This is a new thread that I split from Jen's topic https://worldwidebeekeeping.com/forum/index.php?topic=7952.0  We were getting off topic, but both were very timely subjects.  Bakersdozen

Lburou wrote:
"I worry about the sparks from starting my smoker.  Judging by the holes burned into my bee jacket, I'm not good at controlling fire.  :)"
Lee_Burough

Offline Bakersdozen

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
Re: Smoker safety
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2018, 09:31:21 pm »
I worry about the sparks from starting my smoker.  Judging by the holes burned into my bee jacket, I'm not good at controlling fire.  :)

I worry too.  I have colonies on a nieces rural home location.  They are usually at work when I visit and sometimes they are visiting relatives for the weekend.  If there were a fire, it's possible no one would catch it while it was small. I always worry about sparks and such.  I carry extra water.  I also always look over my shoulder too as I walk back to the truck then dump my smoker out on their gravel driveway and douse it with water.

Offline neillsayers

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2018, 09:58:43 pm »

I worry too.  I have colonies on a nieces rural home location.  They are usually at work when I visit and sometimes they are visiting relatives for the weekend.  If there were a fire, it's possible no one would catch it while it was small. I always worry about sparks and such.  I carry extra water.  I also always look over my shoulder too as I walk back to the truck then dump my smoker out on their gravel driveway and douse it with water.
[/quote]

I have a plug I whittled from a stick that I use to stop up the outlet of my smoker. Takes about 10 minutes or so and the smoker is cool to the touch. I always touch it on the bottom to make sure. Next time I fire up the leftovers make good dry kindling to start it up.

B13,