Author Topic: Protective Gear  (Read 29764 times)

Offline JanO

Protective Gear
« on: January 05, 2014, 12:26:37 pm »
Can we discuss protection gear, and necessary items to work our hives?  Since I'm just starting out I'm curious about what is really necessary as far as accessories, and protection.  Do I really need a whole suit, or is head protection sufficient if you wear a long sleeve shirt and jeans when working your hives?  And what type of gloves are best?  Besides a smoker and hive tool, what else is absolutely necessary?  It seems like everyone is determined to sell me everything under the sun, but I'm not sure about what is actually needed.  I don't want to buy something that will only sit around and collect dust.

Offline Walt B

• Red Gate Farm
Re: Protective Gear
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 12:36:12 pm »
I started with a hat/veil and wore long sleeved shirts. Many folks don't use gloves, but I feel more confident with nitrile gloves (the ones you get from the Chinese importer). They may not be much better than nothing, but they make me feel good and that is the important part.

As for tools, I always use a smoker (mandatory...not for you, for the bees), and mostly a hive tool and a brush.

Beekeepers use what "works for them". The whole idea is to work around the hives in comfort and calm. I eventually purchased a ventilated jacket because I got tired of being stung (and I swell up like the Michelin Man). Suited up I work calmly and at my pace.

You didn't ask, but I shall volunteer that you keep away from "starter kits". Just purchase the wooden ware, hive items, and tools that you think you will need for "x" number of hives. My $0.02.

Walt
Red Gate Farm
Stamp Out Racism

Offline Bakersdozen

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 12:47:50 pm »
Good topic, JanO.