Author Topic: Nucs vs packages  (Read 10712 times)

Offline LindsayBrower1

Nucs vs packages
« on: January 09, 2014, 09:51:08 am »
Hey everyone! I'm feeling a bit of pressure to get my bees ordered now so I'm guaranteed to receive them in spring... On that note I've been doing as much research possible ( around taking care of my kids and husband LOL) but I haven't confidently made a decision on what I should order! Nuc? Package? I'm also nervous about who I order from since I am new to this! I have made the decision to start with 2 ! Just hoping for a little bit of guidance for a newbie. I know that the nucs are established colonies etc. but it seems to me as long as the bees are slowly introduced to the queen that they will be fine. So is a Nuc really worth the extra $100 each?
"The earth has music for those who listen"

Offline LindsayBrower1

Re: Nucs vs packages
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2014, 09:57:33 am »
Let me apologize ahead of time for any questions that may be dumb  :laugh:

Offline LazyBkpr

• Gold Member
  • www.outyard.net
    • The Outyard
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2014, 10:09:24 am »
Oh my.. you have your hands FULL!!!!!

Nucs... have drawn frames and a queen that is already introduced and laying. You simply let them get well built up in their Nuc box, and switch the frames over to your hive box..
   Packages...   They have no drawn frames and start from scratch. You have to introduce the queen to them as well.  Depending on how you get the packages, they may have already had a few days to get to know her Pheromones so it isnt often an issue.

Packages are usually cheaper than Nuc's.
   Given the choice if cost wasnt an issue I would do Nuc's providing you can find someone local that has them in the correct frame size. 5 frame Nuc is preferred over a two or three frame Nuc. More bees and the 5 frame nuc is usually a standard item that you can order a second box for if you choose to build them up to ten frames before you hive them.