Author Topic: Bee Expert?  (Read 1983 times)

Offline Wandering Man

• Gold Member
    • Life Lessons from dogs, bees and others
Bee Expert?
« on: September 17, 2016, 12:23:22 pm »
It is interesting to watch myself go from being the Bee expert among family and friends to total novice soaking up wisdom from the experts on this board.

I'll tell a friend or an acquaintance that I keep bees, and the Q&A session will begin.  I can discuss bee behavior, pests and diseases and honey harvesting for 30 minutes to an hour.

Then I come on this board and realize what a real novice I am as some new bits of wisdom or training happens on the screen.

Of course, I don't fool myself into thinking I'm really an expert.  I haven't even made it through my first winter yet, or had a true harvest.  And I willingly tell my inquiring friends about my limited knowledge.  Still, it is fun to know that I know a lot more details about bees and beekeeping than most of the people I meet.

Thanks to everyone on this board for your mentoring and for making those of us who are just beginning the beekeeping journey look and sound like we know what we are doing.
Never argue with drunks or crazy people
The following users thanked this post: Perry, riverbee

Offline Green bee

Re: Bee Expert?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2016, 12:35:41 pm »
Yes I to am just beginning and I have to agree there is ALOT of knowledge past around here on this site. And everyone is so willing to help. I to must say thanks :bee:
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein
The following users thanked this post: Perry, riverbee

Offline Perry

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
    • Brandt's Bees
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2016, 01:24:39 pm »