Author Topic: Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions  (Read 1731 times)

Offline Ryan_Research

Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions
« on: November 01, 2020, 11:21:45 pm »
Hi,

I am a graduate student at Purdue University. I am interested in working with beekeepers, especially hobbyists and part-time beekeepers, to develop a smart, multisensory beehive that uses various types of data (e.g., video, audio, temperature, weight, and so on) to estimate the state of a bee colony and help them monitor their hives continuously. It would be very helpful if you can share your experience by answering the following questions:

1- How would you describe your experience with the beehive you are currently using?

a. Likes: What are some of the things, if any, you LIKE about your beehive?
b. Dislikes: What are some of the things, if any, you DISLIKE about the beehive?
c. Improvements: Anything you think should be improved?

2- Imagine if you were the designer of this intelligent beehive:

a. What will you include in it to better assist you with the beekeeping practice?
b. What do you want to monitor, and what data is helpful?

Thank You in Advance!

Offline Bakersdozen

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
Re: Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2020, 03:01:00 pm »
I'll start a discussion.  1. Weighing a colony can tell you so much in regards to winter preparedness, nectar flow and how strong the flow is, dearths, and colony build up.  An affordable and easy to use scale would be beneficial.  It would be nice to have multiple scales, especially if there were several apiaries involved.  I encourage new beekeepers to start doing the heft test from the very beginning.  The heft test is where you give a little lift at the bottom of the hive, from the back.  As the colony builds up the beekeeper can tell the difference in weight.