Author Topic: Aspiring to be a new Beekeeper  (Read 5104 times)

Offline Tyler

Aspiring to be a new Beekeeper
« on: March 11, 2015, 03:58:59 pm »
:newhere:
Hey everyone! My name is Tyler Davison, I'm currently a student looking to get into the Beekeeping community once I finish this spring. I suppose I'll take the time now to tell you a little bit of a story about myself... (so this ended up being a lot more long-winded than I had intended, so unless you are particularly interested, you may want to just skip to the bottom from where I've put in bold onwards)

I'm currently in Moncton for University, and once I'm done this spring I am hoping to complete my final year, giving me a Bachelor of Biology. While here, I've acquired two areas of focus: botany and ecology(particularly that of pollinators). When I had first come up here, I honestly didn't have much of a plan, I had hoped on figuring that out by the time I would graduate. In my second year is when I had started on what I believe to be my current course.  Beginning my courses on Botany I had acquired an affinity for plants, and in Animal Behavior I had chosen social insects as my group of focus. During this time I was also taught some on the identification of Fungal and Bacterial growth through a Microbiology course. In the same year, I also had to deal with the undertaking of sexing and breeding fruit flies for a Genetics course.

In the next year, I had performed work in an advanced research team, with my main duty being sorting, counting, identifying, and taking care of aquatic invertebrates(~300 Stonefly larvae of various species, Riffle beetles, Dragonfly larvae, Planaria, and Daphnia, to name some of what was found if anyone was curious).