Author Topic: traded my hurricane wood stove for a fisher  (Read 13518 times)

Offline Riverrat

• Gold Member
traded my hurricane wood stove for a fisher
« on: January 28, 2014, 04:12:16 pm »
I have been running a hurricane wood stove for several years and was happy with it except you couldn't stoke the wood to it. I finally got a deal on a fisher grandma Bear stove. I swapped them out sunday night. I cant believe the difference in the 2 stoves heat wise. Major difference in there outputs. What are some of the stoves you all run
"no man ever stood so tall as one that  stoops to help a child"

Forum Supporter

Offline iddee

• Administrator
  • Gold Member
Re: traded my hurricane wood stove for a fisher
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 04:58:30 pm »
This is the one I used until I was no longer healthy enough to feed it.

http://www.taylormfg.com/waterstove-brochure.html

Thermostat controlled and would heat the whole house with capacity to spare, plus my hot water.
“Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me... Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”
― Shel Silverstein

Gypsi

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 06:27:55 pm »
Made in Taiwan probably in the 50's, found at an estate sale in 2005 or 2006:

Offline Perry

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
    • Brandt's Bees
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2014, 08:09:04 pm »
"It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor."      
Forum Supporter

Offline Crofter

• ex pressure welder/steamfitter; now a tinker
  • Location: N. Ontario, On the shore of North Channel of Lake Huron 46.00 N. Lat.
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 09:36:02 am »

This Drolet HT2000  heater made in Quebec Canada is from 5/ 16 plate with a cast iron and refractory baffle and all stainless air injector systsem