Author Topic: Grapes  (Read 6643 times)

Offline Beeboy

Grapes
« on: April 22, 2014, 01:20:34 pm »
Any body have some good tips on growing grapes?

I put out some Himrod, & Candidace grapes last weekend, but I don't know much about them.

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline BoilerJim

• https://www.facebook.com/jim.taul
Re: Grapes
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 01:30:55 pm »
I have been growing Concord grapes for a few years. I built a wood and wire arbor and tie the vines to the arbor in order to manage the growth and vines. They are pretty much self sufficient. We make grap jelly and grap juice.
Jim (BoilerJim)
Proud Member (Hoosier Division)

Offline Beeboy

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 01:52:33 pm »
How tall do you make your arbor?

Offline minz

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 02:22:20 pm »
I tore out some himrod this last fall, I attempted to trellis them over some red raspberries and they got so big I got no Reds. 
Make your trellises just as high as you want to pick.  They will fill it. You can make more by pushing some cut off branches in the ground in the fall.  These things are a weed! The harder you cut them the harder they grow.
http://smallfarms.oregonstate.edu/sites/default/files/publications/growing_table_grapes_ec1639_may_2011.pdf

Offline Beeboy

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 02:25:27 pm »
I tore out some himrod this last fall, I attempted to trellis them over some red raspberries and they got so big I got no Reds. 
Make your trellises just as high as you want to pick.  They will fill it. You can make more by pushing some cut off branches in the ground in the fall.  These things are a weed! The harder you cut them the harder they grow.
http://smallfarms.oregonstate.edu/sites/default/files/publications/growing_table_grapes_ec1639_may_2011.pdf
How would you grade the grapes in size, flavor, juiciness, etc.

Offline minz

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 02:29:32 pm »