Author Topic: Moving hives. What are some ways to move hives.  (Read 3182 times)

Offline Yankee11

• Gold Member
Moving hives. What are some ways to move hives.
« on: June 23, 2014, 10:46:16 pm »
Now that we are up to about 40 hives and 7 out yards. I am starting to move hives around from yard to yard. 3 yards in natural habitat and 4
yards in crops areas. soybeans, cotton etc.

Thought we could get folks to share ways to move hives around.

OK, go...

Offline blueblood

• Gold Member
    • https://www.facebook.com/scottshoneyandlipbalms
Re: Moving hives. What are some ways to move hives.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2014, 11:13:18 pm »
I haven't moved more than one hive at a time but I have seen folks use skids to load multiple hives.  You have to have a skid loader of course to make this all worth the while.

Offline Woody Roberts

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2014, 11:14:46 pm »
I'm just getting started in the outyard game. So far I've only moved young single deeps to the new yards and will split from there.

If I had different places to move them to for different flows I think I would look at strapping them down on a trailor semi permanent and just move the trailor when need be.

If in bear country I would look at a stock trailor. The kind that has the cage over the top but is not enclosed so to speak.

Offline apisbees

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2014, 02:14:25 am »
Yankee thanks for starting this a a thread of its own.
Tec will chime in here as he has experience moving hives on the commercial scale by the semi loads.